The Next Leg of the Journey of 100 Books; Anne Rivers Siddons and Thomas Merton

The next two reads on my Journey of 100 Books will probably prove to be quite different from each other.  One is to entertain me.  The other is to make me think.  That’s my usual pattern for reading.

For entertainment I am diving into Homeplace by Anne Rivers Siddons.  So far I’ve read two books by Siddons that I liked (Heartbreak Hotel and The House Next Door) and one I absolutely could not drag myself through (Fox’s Earth).  So far the balance is in her favor.  Until the balance tips I’ll keep reading her.

For the thought provoking side I’m taking up Thoughts in Solitude by Thomas Merton.  Thom is deep.  He was a Trappist monk until his untimely death.  He is also controversial in Catholic circles mostly because of how much he draws from Eastern religion later in his career.  Thom makes me think.  He makes me think about my inner self and, as the staunch social commentator that he was,  he makes me think about the world around me, and how the two are inextricably woven together.  I have of late been considering the depth, or perhaps the shallowness, of my own interior life and Merton is always good about showing sides of myself to which I may be prone to turn a blind eye.

These next two steps in the Journey of 100 Books will be interesting.  I’m already getting the itch whenever I drive by a bookstore or yard sale.  I’ve fallen off the wagon once and blamed it on a special occasion.  I am determined to get through my 100 books already owned before buying more.

Here’s to the next fork in the road.

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “The Next Leg of the Journey of 100 Books; Anne Rivers Siddons and Thomas Merton

Leave a Reply

